A change in energy

Hello from the USA! We all arrived safely in Omaha yesterday after two flights. While i’m glad to be back home with family and friends, I wish my time with Nisse and Armando didn’t have to be so short.

20130104_MASIN_BRAZI_FARM0158

I spent a little more than two days out at the farm, sleeping in the garage and photographing everything else my story needed. Nicky came and joined me on Friday afternoon, and we started to cover all the holes in the story.

20130104_MASIN_BRAZI_FARM0286

20130104_MASIN_BRAZI_FARM0344A

On Friday night, a little before bedtime Armando told Nicky and I that his heart was going to be very sad when we leave. He also told us the energy around his home changed for the better when we were there, and he was going to miss us. Things like this make me feel so good. I posted early on after my first day at the farm hoping I would leave Nisse and Armando as many memories as I would have. It felt weird not going out to the farm Sunday morning.

20130103_MASIN_BRAZI_FARM0182

20130103_MASIN_BRAZI_FARM0294

20130103_MASIN_BRAZI_FARM0528

Nicky and I set it up so one of our translators can show them our multimedia project when we finish it, so they can see what they took part in and hopefully create some change for the Landless Movement.

20130103_MASIN_BRAZI_FARM0726

20130103_MASIN_BRAZI_FARM0001

20130103_MASIN_BRAZI_FARM0043

Have a great day,

Matt

About Matthew Masin
I am a 21 year-old student of journalism at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. My website portfolio is at http://matthewmasinphoto.com

Leave a Reply

